What was the great ice storm of massachusetts?

The Worst Ice Storm on Record (December 4-5, 1964) Many residents were without power for up to two weeks and schools had to be shut down for a week. Damage was estimates approached 5 million dollars. Temporary shelters were opened in Massachusetts and New York.