What's a catalpa tree?

Catalpa, commonly called catalpa or catawba, is a genus of flowering plants in the family Bignoniaceae, native to warm temperate and subtropical regions of North America, the Caribbean, and East Asia. Teas and poultices made from the bark and leaves are often used in herbal medicine.