Where does chili originate from?

Historians often cite Texas as the birthplace of chili. The earliest description comes from an 1828 journal. Recounting a visit to San Antonio, J C Clopper writes about it as "a kind of hash with nearly as many peppers as there are pieces of meat – this is all stewed together."