Why do people yawn?

Our bodies take in less oxygen when our breathing has slowed. Therefore, yawning helps us bring more oxygen into the blood and move more carbon dioxide out of the blood.

---

Yawning helps to cool your brain down from that clotting. Another reason you may yawn is because the body wants to wake itself up. The motion helps stretch the lungs and their tissues, and it allows the body to flex its muscles and joints.