How long does chicken last frozen in the freezer?

Chicken can last 9 months to a year in a freezer as long as it is properly wrapped and the freezer temperature is maintained. Remove chicken from grocery or butcher wrapping, rinse and wrap in 2 to 3 layers. Label your package with the contents and date.