When was the wedge salad created?

The general concensus of current sources squarely places this salad as a menu entry of the 1950s and 1960s. The lettuce wedge lost its place in the 1970s when consumers were intrigued by more interesting salads. Around 1989, the iceberg wedge salad resurfaced as a reinvented item on trendy menus.