What do dogs have nightmares about?

Dogs that suffer from nightmares may dream about things they dislike or fear, such as taking a bath, going to the groomer, or getting chased by another dog. Dogs also have great memories, so rescue dogs will often have nightmares about events that happened when they were alone, abandoned or hurt.