What are black beans?

Black beans are classified as legumes. Also known as turtle beans because of their hard, shell-like appearance, black beans are, in fact, the edible seeds of the plant. Like other legumes, such as peanuts, peas, and lentils, black beans are prized for their high protein and fiber content.