Why is santa jolly?

Although some disagree as did the Grinch initially, Santa has long been described as jolly in text, song & conversation because he believes in & represents the spirit of the Christmas season. As Santa, or Kris Kringle, said in Miracle on 34th Street, Christmas isn't just a day, its a frame of mind