What is the animal of florida?

The most endangered of all Florida's symbols is its state animal, the panther (Felis concolor coryi) which was chosen in 1982 by a vote of students throughout the state. The Florida Panther is a large, long-tailed, pale brown cat that grows to six feet or longer.