Is a gerbil a hamster?

Hamsters and Gerbils are similar in many ways, yet they are so very different. Even though they are both mammals, they are completely different species. An obvious difference is the tail of each mammal. A Gerbil’s tail is usually 3 – 4 inches long while a Hamster has a short and stubby tail.