How far can babies see?

Newborns can see approximately 12-18” with some clarity. This happens to be the same distance an infants face would be from the face of their mother when breastfeeding. As the infant grows, the distance they can see with clear vision increases.

---

At birth an infant can detect light and motion, then can make out faces and large shapes. By the end of the first month, a baby can make eye contact and focus on objects about 30 cm (1 ft) away. By the time a baby is 3-4 months old, it can distinguish between colors and focus on smaller objects.