What does forty acres in a mule mean?

Forty acres & a mule (aka. Special Field Order #15-1865, General Sherman) a short-lived land grant to former slaves. They received forty acres & a mule. Sadly, President Johnson's Proclamation returned land to white owners for loyalty oaths. Congress' legislation assisted some in keeping their land.