What is stomach fat?

Stomach fat is subcutaneous adipose tissue situated on the torso, adjacent to the abdominal organs. Human beings often store fat on the abdomen, likely a holdover from hunter-gatherer based nutritional cycles, to allow a person to survive without immediate food sources.