How did wolves turn into dogs?

According to modern theories, wolves were domesticated around 20,000 to 40,000 years ago. Who tamed these wolves and how remains a mystery. The animals lived much better lives than their counterparts in the wild. Their genes were passed on and developed into the dog breeds we have today.