What makes sonic fast?

Many people are wondering how fast Sonic the Hedgehog is, and this can be attributed to the unique pair of power sneakers made by Dr. Kintobor. It has special materials that push Sonic the Hedgehog's maximum speed, helping him reach a super speed of thousands of miles per hour.