What is the crossfit open workout?

The CrossFit Open is a 5 week worldwide competition that allows any athlete in the world to compete in specific workouts designed for the everyday CrossFitter that can still challenge even the most elite athletes. More than 272,000 athletes sign up for the Open, ranging from 14 to 86 years old.