How long does it take a banana tree to mature?

Bananas don't grow on trees, they're large herbs, reaching 6 to 30 feet, or 2 to 10 meters. With a warm humid climate and fertile soil, most banana plants reach maturity in 18 months. After fruiting, the main stalk will die back, but new stalks, called pups, will emerge from the soil and regrow.