Why do puppies get hiccups?

Enter the hiccups, which occur when your pup's diaphragm becomes irritated, possibly from eating or drinking too fast. Nervousness or excitement can also cause hiccups in a puppy. Don't be alarmed by your pet's hiccups. Puppies tend to gulp a lot of air when they eat or drink.

---

Hiccups are simply uncontrollable spasms that contract the diaphragm muscle causing your pup to begin to breathe in. ... And out comes hiccups. Dogs generally get them from the air they swallow when they eat or drink too fast, but stress, fatigue and excitement can also bring on a bout