How far do monarch butterflies travel?

Most monarch butterflies in the united states migrate south to overwinter in mexico. However, these same individuals do not return the next year. Instead, they lay eggs and then die. The eggs they left hatch into caterpillars which develop into butterflies in Mexico and fly north after the winter.