What is the difference between a cashier's check and a money order?

The major difference between cashier's checks and money orders is their cost and where they're purchased. Money orders cost just a few dollars and can typically be obtained for amounts up to $1,000. A cashier's check is similar to a money order, but is issued by a bank and requires a bank account.