What is a boil on the skin?

A boil is a skin infection that often starts in a hair follicle or oil gland. Some boils are from foreign material lodged in the skin. After four to seven days, a lump starts turning white as pus collects under the skin. Boils often appear on the face, neck, armpits, shoulders, and buttocks.

---

A boil is a skin infection that starts in a hair follicle or oil gland. ... After four to seven days, the lump starts turning white as pus collects under the skin. The most common places for boils to appear are on the face, neck, armpits, shoulders, and buttocks.