What is a boil on the skin?

A boil is a skin infection that often starts in a hair follicle or oil gland. Some boils are from foreign material lodged in the skin. After four to seven days, a lump starts turning white as pus collects under the skin. Boils often appear on the face, neck, armpits, shoulders, and buttocks.