What was the first submarine made out of?

Robert Fulton built the first submarine, called the Nautilus, with a grant from Napoleon Bonaparte. Completed in May 1801, it was made of copper sheets over iron ribs. It also had a collapsing mast and sail, for surface use, and a hand-cranked propeller when submerged.