Who wrote the sa self-reliance?

"Self-Reliance" is an 1841 essay written by American transcendentalist philosopher & essayist Ralph Waldo Emerson. It contains the most thorough statement of one of Emerson's recurrent themes: the need for each individual to avoid conformity & false consistency, & follow his own instincts and ideas