Where did the same cup of joe come from?

In 1914, Secretary of the Navy Josephus, “Joe”, Daniels banned alcohol from all U.S. Navy ships. As this was close to the start of World War I, many young men would soon find themselves aboard a ship where the strongest drink available was coffee, or a “cup of joe.”