How do you sautee salmon?

Add the fillets skin-side down to the pan. Cook the salmon undisturbed until the lighter-colored flesh has moved about three fourths of the way up the fillets. This will come to a total time of 8 to 9 minutes for thick fillets and 6 to 7 minutes for thinner fillets.