What's the longest n. h. l. game ever played?

The longest NHL game went to six overtimes. That was in the 1936 Stanley Cup finals. Mud Bruneteau's goal gave the Detroit Red Wings a 1-0 victory over the Montreal Maroons. 217 min and 14 sec is the new world record in a hockey game.

---

On March 24, 1936 – the Detroit Red Wings played the Montreal Maroons. The two teams played more than 176 minutes of scoreless hockey in Game 1 of the first round of the playoffs before Brunteau slipped one past the goalie in the sixth overtime period.