What's the longest n. h. l. game ever played?

The longest NHL game went to six overtimes. That was in the 1936 Stanley Cup finals. Mud Bruneteau's goal gave the Detroit Red Wings a 1-0 victory over the Montreal Maroons. 217 min and 14 sec is the new world record in a hockey game.