How many birds live on earth?

400 billion is the number from the American Museum of Natural History. About 10 years ago, two scientists decided to estimate the total number of birds on the planet. The number they came up with was 200 to 400 billion individual birds. Compared to 5 billion people, that is 40 to 60 birds per person