Who is the first person to travel in space?

Yuri Alekseyevich Gagarin in 1961

---

The first person in space was Russian cosmonaut Yuri Gagarin. He was in space for a total of 108 minutes, and circled the earth for a little over one orbit in the Soviet Union's Vostok spacecraft.