What's the maximum amount of liquid you can carry on a plane?

Per the Transportation Security Administration, you are only allowed to bring a quart-sized bag of liquids, aerosols, gels, creams or pastes in your carry-on bag and through the security checkpoint. These are limited to travel-sized containers that are 3.4 ounces (100 milliliters) or less per item.