When was the very first movie made?

Race Horse was the first Film, filmed in 1878 by Edward Muybridge. It used still cameras to photograph a series of images as the horse ran past and tripped the shutters. The photos were combined on a kaleidoscope to reproduce the movement. The movie lasted 16 seconds, hardly an epic.