When was cheese made?

The making of cheese dates back at least 4,000 years. It is believed to have been developed in Asia or Arabia. Italy was the major European cheese center in the 10th century and cheese arrived in America on the Mayflower with the pilgrims. More than a third of milk is turned into cheese annually.