Who invented peanut butter crackers?

Phillip Lance, a Charlotte, N.C. food broker, had 500 pounds of unwanted peanuts. Lance began selling the peanuts on the street for a nickel a bag. He soon expanded his business to include peanut butter, and shortly after, the first peanut butter sandwich cracker was born.