What does the word assault mean?

Assault is a legal term. For criminal law, assault is an intentional act that puts another individual in apprehension of immediate harm.

---

Assault refers to an intentional act that makes someone afraid of being harmed or having offensive contact. Battery, on the other hand, is the act of offensively touching or using force on another person. For example, raising a fist at someone is assault, but hitting them is battery.