What is the coriolis effect?

The coriolis effect is an apparent force resulting from differing speeds of Earth's surface as it spins. The closer to the equator a point is, the faster it will move. Because of the speed difference, an object moving north or south and not on the surface will move east or west as well.

---

an effect whereby a mass moving in a rotating system experiences a force (the Coriolis force ) acting perpendicular to the direction of motion and to the axis of rotation.