What is valkyrie mean?

The Valkyries are part of Norse mythology where they serve the purpose of guiding Nordic warriors who fall in battle to their earned afterlife. Half are brought to Odin's Hall in Valhalla and the other's to Freya's Field, called Fólkvangr.