What happened to the kid in the shining?

If by kid you're referring to Danny Lloyd played by Danny Torrance in Stanley Kubrick's The Shining Spoiler alert pause know if you don't what to hear the answer... He and he's mother survived but as time goes by Danny ends up really traumatized, there's even a sequel called Doctor sleep.