How long can a body go without sleep?

The longest a human has ever been recorded to go without sleep was about 264 hours, or 11 days.

---

The last recorded experiment from 1964 reached 11 whole days (264 hours) without sleep. As prolonged sleep deprivation is extremely harmful to human health The Guinness Book of Records is no longer accepting entries in this category. Many discussions are lately held on humanity of sleep deprivation.