What is the definition of rhetoric?

Wikipedia indicates that rhetoric is the art of persuasion, which along with grammar and logic is one of the three ancient arts of discourse. It includes language designed to have a persuasive or impressive effect that is often regarded as lacking in sincerity or meaningful content.