Where does the phrase cute as a button come from?

The origin of the phrase "cute as a button"... has nothing to do with a button like a button on a shirt. The button quail is a very small gray super fluffy squishy looking (or 'cute' ) bird. People used to say "cute as a button", meaning "cute as a button quail" as the bird was so adorable.