When did the mississippi river flow backwards?

The storm surge ahead of Hurricane Isaac made the Mississippi River run backwards for 24 hours. But it is not just extreme weather that can cause the effect; an earthquake near the New Madrid fault in Missouri in 1812 also reversed the river's flow for several hours.