Why is it called cold turkey?

A combination of cold; meaning straightforward, or matter-of-fact. And from the cold clammy feel of the skin during withdrawal; like that of a turkey that has been refrigerated. The phrase captures the initial dread and discomfort that comes from immediately quitting something addictive.

---

Because it's leftovers from the fridge