What is the smallest organism on earth?

The smallest entity universally recognised to be a living organism is Nanoarchaeum equitans. This minuscule microbe was only discovered in 2002, in a hydrothermal vent on the seafloor off the coast of Iceland, and its cells are only 400 nanometres across.