What makes armpits smell?

Body odor is caused by bacteria breaking down sweat and is largely linked to the apocrine glands. .. Apocrine glands in the skin and the eyelids are sweat glands. Most of the apocrine glands in the skin are located in the groin, armpits, and around the nipples. In the skin, they usually have an odor