What is considered a scene in a movie?

A movie scene is part of a movie usually contained to a single location or period of time and lasting for 5 to 10 minutes of the movie's runtime. For example, a couple of characters may meet at a coffee shop to discuss something that advances the plot. Then the movie cuts to the next scene.