What is a super warm moon?

A super worm moon, the last supermoon of 2019, has been observed around the world. The super worm moon coincides with the spring equinox, when the length of day and night are almost the same. Supermoons occur when the Moon is closest to the Earth, making it appear bigger and brighter than normal.

---

In the north, the March full moon is also known as the worm moon, because it coincides with the time of year when earthworms begin to emerge from the thawing soils. That's why this equinox supermoon is also being called a super worm moon.