What is explicit bias?

Explicit bias is the traditional conceptualization of bias. With explicit bias, individuals are aware of their prejudices and attitudes toward certain groups. 8 Positive or negative preferences for a particular group are conscious. Overt racism and racist comments are examples of explicit biases.