What constitutes a hurricane?

A hurricane is a tropical cyclone with sustained winds of at least 74 miles per hour. A tropical cyclone, is an intense circular storm originating on warm tropical oceans and with low atmospheric pressure, high winds, and spiral bands of heavy thunderstorms.