Who is miss scarpetta?

Kay Scarpetta is a fictional character and protagonist in a series of crime novels written by Patricia Cornwell. She first appears in the 1990 novel Postmortem. The character was inspired by former Virginia Chief Medical Examiner Marcella Farinelli Fierro, MD.