What was the white water investigation about?

The Whitewater controversy, was a political controversy of the 1990s. It began with an investigation of the investments of Bill and Hillary Clinton and Jim and Susan McDougal, in the failed Whitewater Development Corp. incorporated with the purpose of developing land along the White River.